300+ West Bengal State GK Questions with Answers in English

West Bengal State GK Questions and Answers MCQs

1. As of 2020, how many times West Bengal won the Santosh trophy tournaments?


2. Who wrote Brahmagupta?


3. Who is the first player from the Indian subcontinent to play overseas?

Mohammed Salim

4. What was the capital of Deva Dynasty?


5. Which King was unanimously elected to end the Matsyanyaya period in Bengal?


6. Kanva kings were originally–?


7. In which year, Jyoti Basu became the Chief Minister of West Bengal for the first time?


8. Bengal’s oldest inscription is–?

Mahasthan Brahmi Inscription

9. Who is known as the last independent Nawab of Bengal?

Siraj ud-Daulah

10. Who wrote Brahmanasarvasva?

Halayudha MishraWest Bengal State GK Questions

Where the first factory was established by British East India Company?



The unique, first-of-its-kind, floating market has come up in which city of West Bengal?


Who had written the Meghnad Badh Kavya?

Michael Madhusudan Dutt

How many districts are there in West Bengal?


Which one is the first newspaper published in bengali language?

Samachar Darpan

Which is the first newspaper of West Bengal?

Samachar Darpan

Who was the author of the first Bengali novel “Durgeshnondini”?

Bankim Chandra Chattopadhyay

Who was the final Sultan of Bengal?

Daud Khan Karrani

Who was the first Indian Librarian in National Library of India?

Harinath De

According to Prof. P.C. Mahalanobis, how many castes were found in Bengal?


The Indian Science Congress Association is started in the year?


From the below, which state did not share its border with West Bengal?


What is called the “lungs of Kolkata”?


In India, Doctors’ Day is celebrated on the memory of Bidhan Chandra Roy on?

1st July

Who was the first Mayor of Calcutta Municipal Corporation?

Chittaranjan Das

Who is known as the Father of the Bengali renaissance?

Raja Ram Mohan Roy

Who founded the Fort William College?

Lord Wellesley

In which year, the capital of India is shifted from Kolkata to Delhi?


Who was throned the Tripuri Kingdom in 1464?

Ratna Manikya I

The novel Parineeta was written by?

Sarat Chandra Chattopadhyay

Upon Turks invasion in Bengal, Gaur was renamed as–?


From which Lipi Anga Lipi and Bengali Lipi have been derived from?

Brahmic Lipi

Who ousted Hussain Shah Dynasty?

Sher Shah

Which one is the second planned city of India after Chandigarh?


In which year the Durgapur Steel Plant was established?


Who was the first Bengali literature to win the Sahitya Akademi Award?

Jibanananda Das

Total number of National Parks in West Bengal is?


Who had written the “Sri Krishna Vijaya”?

Maladhar Basu

For which novel, Satinath Bhaduri conferred with “Rabindra Puraskar” award?


Jibanananda Das received the Sahitya Akademi Award in 1955 for the poetry book?

Shreshtha Kavita

In which year Mahashweta Devi conferred with Ramon Magsaysay Award?


Name the organization formed by Surendranath Banerjee which merged with the Indian National Congress in 1886?

Indian Association

The Visva-Bharati University was established by Rabindranath Tagore in the year?


Who started the “Young Bengal” movement?

Vivian Derozio

Who had founded the Swadesh Bandhab Samiti to promote the consumption of indigenous products?

Ashwini Kumar Dutta

After conquering Kolkata city in 1756, Siraj-ud-daulla renamed the city as?


In which year, Satyajit Ray was conferred with Legion of Honour?


Which is the highest peak in West Bengal?


The Calcutta High Court building’s was designed based on the Cloth Hall, in _______?


Who was the first Police Commissioner of Kolkata?


Which one subdivision is not under Gorkhaland Territorial Administration?


In which year Sundarbans National Park is designated as World Heritage Site?


During which time of dynasty, the famous Dhakeshwari temple was built?

Sena Dynasty

In which year Mihir Sen cross the English Channel?


Who founded Gokhale Memorial Girls’ School at Kolkata in 1920?

Sarala Roy

Who was the first Chief Justice of Calcutta High Court?

Sir Barnes Peacock

Whose ascension began the Saka Era?

King Chashtana

Total number of members in the West Bengal Legislative Assembly is?


Who was the first king of Gahadavala dynasty?


Who was the first speaker of the West Bengal Legislative Assembly?

Saila Kumar Mukherjee

Who was the Nawab of Bengal at the time of Battle of Buxar?

Mir Qasim

Who was the first Chief Minister of West Bengal?

Prafulla Chandra Ghosh

Which viceroy of India, declared the Bengal Partition in 1905?

Lord Curzon

The famous novel Devdas was written by Sarat Chandra Chattopadhyay in the year?


When Kolkata Police was formed?


Total number of Districts in West Bengal is?


Which one is the first Bengali novel?


The first newspaper of India Hickey’s Bengal Gazette was published in Calcutta in?


Which Governor General of India setup the National Library of India in Kolkata?

Lord Curzon

Who was the captain of Indian football team when won the Gold Medal in the 1951 Asian Games?

Shailen Manna

Total sanctioned judge strength in Calcutta High Court is?


Which one is the is the second largest city in West Bengal?


Who is known as the pioneer of the blank verse in Bengali literature?

Michael Madhusudan Dutt

Total number of wildlife sanctuaries in West Bengal is?


In which year Michael Madhusudan Dutt wrote the play Padmavati?


Who founded the Pagal Panth?

Karam Shah

Which Nawab was tried to raise a modern and discipline Army on European lines?

Mir Qasim

The Fakir-Sannyasi rebellion in Bengal was started in the year?


Which is recognised as state flower of West Bengal?

Night-flowering jasmine

Total number of Women candidates elected in the 2021 West Bengal Assembly election is?


Sundarban is declared as “World Heritage Site” for?


The Kharagpur Indian Institute of Technology was established in the year?


The construction of Victoria Memorial was completed in the year?


Which footballer is also known as the “Indian Maradona”?

Krishanu Dey

In India, West Bengal is the largest producer of?


The Kolkata Metro service was started from the year?


Anandamath which was written by Bankim Chandra Chattopadhyay was published in the year?


When the first electric tramcar was started in Kolkata?


When the first ODI was held in Eden Gardens?


Calcutta High Court was established in the year?


Total number of Lok Sabha constituency in West Bengal is?


The Durgapur Steel Plant was established with the help of?


Which Viceroy of India suggested the construction of Victoria Memorial in the memory of Queen Victoria?

Lord Curzon

From which year the “Rabindra Puraskar” award was conferred to writers?


Who is the first Bengali writer to received the Jnanpith Award?

Tarasankar Bandyopadhyay

Who was offered Membership of the Royal Asiatic Society of Paris?

Michael Madhusudan Dutta

Who won the Sahitya Akademi Award 2017 in Bengali Language?

Afsar Ahmed

The Fort William College was established in the year?


Who was the first Governor of West Bengal after independence?

Chakravarthi Rajagopalachari

Total number of Rajya Sabha seats from West Bengal is?


West Bengal State GK objective questions with answers pdf download online certification exam test

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *